Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing number of sports facilities, others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and other measures are required.

The importance of increased sporting facilities on the health of the populace is debatable. While some believe this will tremendously bring about improvement in the wellbeing of people, others claim there are better options in achieving it. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, and give reasons why other approaches are more beneficial. On the one hand, some argue that if more sport facilities are built most especially in the cities, health challenges relating to sedentary lifestyle will drastically reduce. In other words, cardiac diseases and some malignancies which usually stem from obesity will be curtailed when people become more active with these equipments. Children will also benefit from this development whenever they accompany their parents to access these innovations, which will give birth to healthier progeny of populace. To illustrate, provision of higher number of gym centres, games park, tennis court will facilitate people having more active leisure time rather than watching television or playing video games. On the other hand, others believe existing sports facilities have achieved marginal positive effect on the public wellbeing, and advocate for effective measures including health promotion and better medical care services, which I agree. Over the years, former approach had brought negligible outcome despite people having access to it, because they are ignorant of healthy lifestyles. Health information that addresses damaging effect of high calorie diet, over reliance on private cars rather than public transport, as implicating factors in the development of obesity and associated complications. Furthermore, prompt and effective health care delivery such as immunization, treatment of common illnesses and rehabilitation will be a welcomed development on the health of the citizens. To conclude, having considered varying views, I believe effective health care services and healthy living education will have an obvious effect in promoting the populace health, rather than constructing more sports complexes.