Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

It is noticeable that people tend to travel more frequently these days than they used to do in the past. While I agree that the travellers should follow the host country’s traditions and cultures, I also think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. On one hand, travellers should adapt to the culture of their host country and feel happy with the idea of trying new things. Nowadays, people not only consider travelling as a way to relax but also they think it is a chance for self-improvement and exploring the world. Travelling is a good opportunity to try new things such as traditional cuisine, music and customs and those who just travel to view landscapes waste a perfect chance to learn something new. For example, people who have visited places like India, Egypt or China have been very excited when they tried the local food or wore the traditional dress. An experience like this broadens people’s horizons and enriches their knowledge. On the other hand, for many reasons the host country should accept and understand the different backgrounds of tourists. Firstly, for many visitors, it would be difficult to follow the host culture and customs because these usually different than their own and in some cases they may even be incompatible with their beliefs and morals. For example, Indian or Arabs who go to European countries may find it difficult to get used to the European taste in food because it does not contain as much spices as they have in their food. In addition, if travellers feel they are welcomed in the new country despite the cultural differences they will feel more comfortable to visit this place again. In conclusion, I believe that it could be beneficial for travellers to get exposed to different cultures and customs. However, tourist destinations should be opened to the cultural diversity of its newcomers.