Some people believe that children are given too much freedom. they feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

As the world has progressed and emphasis is laid on other activities outside of school work as well, some consider that this has provided children with a lot of free time which is unproductive. It is a strong belief among some that extra school work should be done in this time. I believe that though children do have a lot of leisure time at their disposal, it should be utilized not in school work but by involving in activities which enhance other aspects of their personality resulting in overall development. Firstly, sporting activities are important for the physical growth of children which should be inculcated in daily routine. It is vital for a child’s development that in addition to the mental activity done via school work, physical activity should also be done. In my opinion, playing any sport in free time serves this very purpose. Not only children develop other interests but stay healthy as well. For example a child who after completing school work also likes to play football would indeed be more physically fit compared to the one who does not. Also it does help in relieving stress after a hefty school day to go out and have some good old-fashioned fun resulting in better mental health. Consequently, social skills also plays a very important role in life and should be taught from early on. The paramount way to achieve this would be encouraging one’s child to mingle socially with others and make friends. Studies have shown that largely people have isolated themselves due to which they suffer from mental ailments. It is incumbent upon us to make sure that our children doesn’t suffer from same. Therefore, I would like to see children going out and indulging in various activities with their friends. What this will do is improve their social skills and would provide them with a strong support system. In conclusion, I strongly feel that though children do have free time but it should be not be utilized by giving extra school work as a sufficient amount is already there. Rather, this free time should be used more productively like playing sports or being socially active resulting in a better overall personality which is essential in life.