Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

To a larger extent, I believe that children are given too much free time. Free time in my opinion refers to time not spent under the direct supervision of a parent, teacher or a person enthrusted with the responsibility of bringing up the child. Such time is often spent on several things such as watching television, playing with friends, going to parties, doing home work, playing games on their own amongst others. Amongst all of the above, a child could either be influenced by his or her peer group especially when left without attention or be be influenced by what he or she watches on television most of which are those not meant to be viewed by the child`s age group. In my opinion, most of the formative years of a child should be spent doing school work, engaging in recreational activities that would develop the child emotionally and mentally. I believe this strongly because at a young age, a child is quick to grasp most of all that is seen or heard. for instance, a child who is not used to doing more school work usually referred to as house work.