: Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than other experiences we may have in life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Some research shows that inborn characteristics have greater impacts on personal development and personality than experiences people have in life. However, I believe that experiences are the major influence on human development. Undoubtedly characteristics which people are born with play an important role in shaping their future development. For example, if a person was born an introvert it is likely that he or she will always find it hard to make friends and build new relationships, which can limit his or her prospects of success because success is often built on a supportive network of contacts. However, I believe that life experiences are more important in shaping a person’s personality and development. Firstly, experiences can transform inborn characteristics to help people adapt to different situations. For instance, a shy and gentle child who is to experience hardships and violence can learn to be tough to deal with difficulties. Secondly, experiences can enrich inborn characteristics to enhance a person’s development. To explain, if parents discover that their child has a special interest in making money because a child, they can create favourable conditions where the child can learn moneymaking lessons through experiences. In this case, innate characteristics are complemented by experiences; as a result, the child is likely to develop important qualities such as tact, a good sense of judgment, attention to details or perseverance. These qualities create the business acumen that can launch him or her on a successful career later on. In conclusion, although I do not play down the importance of innate characteristics, I believe experiences that one has in life have more important influences on their personalities and development.