Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any lifetime experiences. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many studies show that personal's characters are more influenced by the distinctive features we have had since being born than experiences happening in life. In my opinion, lifetime experiences have a stronger influence on our personality due to two main factors, compared with genetic characteristics. The first and foremost reason is that from the newborn birthday, people always stay in a group, and certainly the surrounds background will affect them somehow. When we were young, we usually imitated everything that adults do, which is a natural process for children to grow. If one's father is easily angry and frequently hit others, he or she will do the same thing unconsciously. As a result, when they grow up, they may bully people around them as a habit. This means that personality has been affected by the surrounding elements. Another cause worth considering is that people need to change their individual characteristics to suit with the modern world. For example, one can be a shy kind of person, but if he wants to work in a large organisation, he should be open and sociable with everyone. This helps him to make himself more interesting and easier to work with. Besides, the fast development of technology requires people to become more flexible in renewing themselves. Unless he studies and updates, new information, he will be left behind. Therefore, they cannot insist on following their own strict personal's character. The lifetime experiences force us to change. In conclusion, the inborn characteristics have some influence on an individual’s nature and development. However, in my opinion, it is mainly the outlook and appearance that are acquired, and not the personality. The lifetime situations have a major influence on our ability to cope with our circumstances and succeed in life.