Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

The increasing scientific focus on people's influences has revealed a major role of personality and development in defining humans. I completely agree this idea and in this essay I will support it with examples. Firstly, the major contribution is probably represented by family. The environment in which we have grown, has surely affected our lives and moreover has left a footprint in our way of being. The same concerns our parents' attitudes and also the behaviour we are taught, as schools we have attended and the cities in which we have lived. This, generally, shapes our development and surely are deepen and rooted in our personality. Secondly, our personality is genetically defined during the embryonic development and even depends on how our organism processes the outer information. For instance, it is scientifically proved that the first years are pivotal in enriching and defining our personality. This is also due in part to the experience we could cram for during the early stages, even if unconscious. On the other hand, also experiences are relevant. Even if research assigns them a minor role, I strongly believe they are crucial, especially as younger. There are many of our daily attitudes that are a reflection of what has affected us as children, experiences that have leapfrogged our consciousness, but are still kept in our memory and directly influence our behaviours. To sum up, although is already proved that the inherited personality and the early stages of development are fundamental influences, experiences also seems to be potentially relevant, since as children all information acquired are due to how we experience the world surrounding us. However, scientific evidences didn't suggest it.