Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It can be noticed that there is an increasing number of people working as self-employed. This essay is going to reveal and discuss the reasons and disadvantages of this recent phenomenon. This phenomenon can be explained by the fact that people nowadays have easier access to internet. With the advancement of technology, it is not uncommon to see each individual holds a smartphone in one’s hand. As convenient as it seems, one can start off their own business simply on any kind of social media. For those online shops on Instagram and Facebook, this could be a great instance of demonstrating the popularity of online store. Since maintaining a virtual shop does not require people to clean or pay renting fees, with less strings attached, people would like to be self-employed. On the other hand, being self-employed would expose people in a greater risk. When working in a large corporation or company, employees could be safe-guarded by the fact that governments would usually protect their rights via laws. One fine example could be that most, if not all, governments set the law which make sure employers to pay their works salaries on time, if not, they would get caught. Therefore, laws are playing as an important role in governing organisations’ workers. Besides exposing in a huge risk, unstable income could also be another drawback of being as a freelancer. It is undeniable that self-employed people could have a more flexible timetable, however, this could also mean that one could have less work or job to do. As a result, the earnings each month would be unpredictable. If they have a lot customers consume their services or products in a month, of course they would earn more in that month. Likewise, if there are less customers in another month, they would make just a little fortune. To conclude, more people are able to be self-employed are all thank to the greatness of modern technology. However, being as a freelancer would associate with some setbacks. This would possibly be placing oneself in a great risk, and making self-employed workers gain an unstable salaries. Whether self-employed is a good thing or not, it still requires time and evidences to make a sure judgement, let not undermined the potential of it for now.