Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Successful career and a sophisticated lifestyle are the two important requirements of the modern world. In recent years, owning a business has gained more popularity over having a job and working in a multinational company. This essay will discuss so as to why being self-employed is not a great career option. First of all, initiating a work requires entrepreneur skills and a hefty investment. Individuals aspiring to own a shop or set up his start-up must have appropriate knowledge and experience of that particular field. Also, a stable financial support is a must for such type of ventures. There is always a risk involved in setting up a employment from scratch, as there are chances of incurring huge financial loss as well as no guarantee of profit leads to frustration. On the other hand, working in a multinational organization is safe and beneficial. A well established company mostly provides all the facilities like Provident funds, mediclaim facilities and gratuity to their employees, providing a financial security in the future. Employees also get advantage of exploring different departments of the office, which helps them to improve their knowledge and experience. There is always a surety of receiving a fixed income at the end of the month for a person doing job. In conclusion, it is certain that due to less risk and a good financial security, people prefer to work for an organisation rather than having their own business. Being self-employed may or may be not proven to be a successful career option but working for a company always works out despite of its odds.