Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many people tend to work for themselves rather than work for a company or organization these days. I think this situation can be explained by the advancement of the communication tools and the increasingly intense competition in the job market. One of the reasons is that the tools people used to keep contact with each other are far more convenient and powerful than they were 30 years ago. This means those who work for themselves can inform more people in demand about what they can offer. For example, a self-employed illustrator can paint for his clients the needed artwork through internet communication tool without a company. Another reason is that there are too many applicants who compete for a single job. This is because the university started to educate more students in the last several decades. So that more graduated young adults must make their own life but not all of them are able to find a decent job. This leads to the consequence that some of them have to become self-employed and work in some low-paid industries such as haircuts. To my knowledge, being self-employed has two disadvantages in terms of basic insurance and working skills. Regarding the insurance problem, many young people who work for themselves do not pay for vital insurances such as pension fees. This makes them more sensitive to any economic crisis than those workers who work for multinational companies. Additionally, self-employing workers do not have a supervisor, which means they are more likely to be absent from work or doing jobs without efficiency. For example, many orders for painting illustrations can be delayed because of someone who is self-employed sleeping overtime. In conclusion, the increasing number of self-employed workers in today’s world can be explained by the update of contact technique and the competition for working chances. This kind of working trend has many undesirable flaws.