Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days many people opt to be self-employed rather than be employed by an organization. There would be some benefits and drawbacks for this kind of employment. The most important reason that many people want to have their own business is flexibility. For example, they can have flexible working hours beside their daily routines so in this case people can have a sense of freedom. Secondly self-employed person can achieve higher level of self-esteem in terms of independency when they feel they can earn money independently. In other words working without supervision of someone as a boss can make them more self-reliant. As self-employed persons run a business that they are keen on, t¬¬¬hey can immerse themselves in it immensely and consequently they can make more money by their own business rather a fixed salary that a company pays. However, being self-employed can be challenging from another angle as it seems very insecure. For example you cannot expect of fringe benefits such as insurance, bonus that a company provide employees with. Running a business can be quite risky and it can have a negative impact on people's health so they can be found stressed due to bankruptcy. Finally when you start a business you should put pressure on yourself to work longer hours, in this case, social life can be omitted by these person like family relations and friendship. Because of these reasons many people cannot stand this situation. In conclusion having a job for your own can be attractive but very demanding at a same time so it depends on a person's personality and preferences.