Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The tendency toward self-employment is increasing more than that of being employed in a company. This is because of the freedom and some other factors it offers, but there are some disadvantages which worth mentioning too. Many people prefer to be their own boss due to special characteristics it has that can not be found in a formal job. Self-employed people are not required to be at the workplace at a predetermined time as a normal employee is. Working flextime provides people with choosing what time they want to start and stop working, whether be day or night. This is one of the popular aspects of working for yourself which has drawn a large number of people to start their business. Another reason is that many people intend to be their own boss, not taking orders from others and released from obedience to some organizational rules. Job security is also a contributing factor led this type of work become popular. You do not have to be worried about getting sacked or being demoted like when you work for a company. Working independently, however, is not free of drawbacks. When someone is self-employed, there seems not to be a specific and clear career ladder to climb in spite of being employed in an organization, for example, where employees can be promoted. This means being self-employed may not be promising enough. Apart from that, people may lose the opportunity of working in a team and interacting with colleagues in a stimulating environment, where you can compete with others, as well. These interactions can lead to a growth in both personal and professional life which one may not benefit from if they choose to work as a freelancer. In conclusion, different types of freedom and higher job security are several reasons encouraging people to become self-employed; however, several drawbacks such as experiencing no teamwork should be considered while choosing this path.