Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The workforces of modern society now have more choices to earn living, including working at home as self-employees instead of forcing themselves to work in companies or organisations. This is a new trend and there must be many reasons as well as pros and cons of the decision. One fundamental base for the self-employed people is the development of technology, especially super effective and androit computers or laptops we have nowadays. Thanks to the internet and advanced computers, new types of job arose such as digital marketers, information technology ( IT) professors, designers, digital social entertainers like Youtubers or bloggers, and so on. These jobs don’t require people to come to an office or specific places to work. Instead, people can stay at home and produce „intellectual products” using their own computers and other supplemental devices. Other traditional positions could also become work-at-home jobs with the help of computers like consultants, copywriters, etc. From such kind of people’s perspective, working in a company or organisation might be quite complex, time-consuming due to travelling time; and they don’t want to be obliged with any strictly rules or nonsense interactions in a working place. Therefore, working at home is so far the better choice for them. However, such kind of jobs also have limitations. Fisrtly, without attending to a company or organisation, it would be harder for the workers to clarify and complete the documents related to their incomes, taxes, insurances and so on. That would be easier if they are in companies having proper executives. Secondly, working at home would decrease the chances of talking and interacting with other people of a person. This could lead to mental problems in the long term if he or she couldn’t handle his/her life well. And finally, self-employed jobs are often unstable and it would be a challenge for the workers to maintain their livings consistently from time to time. That’s opposite to fulltime workers of companies or organisations, whose life always be ensured with the monthly incomes and insurances. In summary, the decision of working at home or attending a company or organisation is depending on characteristics of jobs, abilities and also interactions of each person. There are advantages and disadvantages of each choice, but companies, organisations and governments should care more about this trend to adapt well and utilize the agile and modern source of workforce.