In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Institutions in many nations have grave problems with the way their students behave. I believe it could be as a result of the undergraduates not being serious with their studies. However, the enforcement of strict rules by the school authority on class attendance and project research can curb this menace. Schools in a large number of countries have severe issues with their students' behaviour because of lack of seriousness in their studies. In other words, they do not take their school work seriously. Moreover, they indulge in partying and socialising rather than studying to earn good grades. For example, a recent study carried out at the University of Lagos, Nigeria, revealed that about 70% of the total number of students, who passed out in 2005, graduated with a third class honours. As a result, the institution as well as the nation is in crisis, which ought not to be. However, institutions should enforce strict rules in class attendance and project research in order that, the students be engaged with more assignments. If put in place, they will not have time to pursue other activities. Covenant University in Ota, Ogun State, Nigeria, for example, started offering the undergraduate case studies to write and present every semester. This has helped to greatly reduce the extra curricular activities by the students. Therefore, engaging these students is an effective way to curb the various issues encountered by the schools. In conclusion, I think that enforcing stiff rules on classwork and research is an excellent way of preventing grave issues that schools face in different nations because the students are not serious with their studies. Given this situation, the government should put infrastructures in schools to encourage undergraduate study.