In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Students' behavioural issues are becoming problematic in recent years. This phenomenon is said to be worldwide, and it is possibly caused by the lack of parental support and decreased teacher's authority. This essay will discuss the causes of this issue and provide some suggestions to solve this issue. The level of parental support for children relating to school and social activities and teachers' authority in classrooms may relate to students' behaviour. It is common for both parents working full-time, however, it means that less time is spent with their children. It is critical for school-age children who require some extent of guidance from their parents in regards to school and social activities. In addition, it is said that teachers used to have more power in the classroom, therefore students were behaving well and listening to adults with respect in the past. Thus, the lack of parental engagement with their children and the loss of discipline in the classroom are considered to be major causes of children's negative behaviour. Some solutions should be sought so that children will become responsible and well-mannered adults. First of all, parents should be responsible for their children in teaching basic manners and how to respect others. Provided that, some parents might need some assistance. In this regard, local schools can cooperate with parents and give supervision to children together. Moreover, educational sessions which cover topics such as how to deal with children with behaviours, or how to teach children respect may be beneficial for those parents who are not confident in educating their children. If schools and parents engage with children in a cooperative manner, children's attitude would improve. In conclusion, the lack of parental engagement and the decreased level of teachers' authority in the classroom probably contribute to students' behaviour in a negative way. Parents should take responsibilities in teaching their children how to behave, with some assistance from classroom teachers and educational information provided by local communities.