In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. <br> What do you think are the causes of this? <br> What solutions can you suggest?

Over the last ten years, pupil’s behavior is a serious problem for a lot of schools around the world. Indeed, according to the statistic, the level of school workers compliances on the pupils behavior have increased significantly. This essay will examine the reasons why this has occurred and suggest some possible solutions. One of the reasons for this is that teachers now lack the freedom to discipline children. In the past, teachers could use any methods they felt appropriate to control pupils in their class, even if this meant physical punishment. However, the balance has now changed, with children aware that there are limits to what a teacher can do and without this respect children’s behaviour could be inappropriate. There have, for instance, been cases were pupils have sued teachers for disciplining them too harshly. Children should of course not be abused, but teachers must be given more power to use the methods that they think appropriate to control the class without fear of recrimination. Another factor may be the diet of children. Research has widely reported that the additives on a lot of the snacks and carbonated drinks that children drink regularly can cause behavioural changes such as hyperactivity. This may lead to significant problem with child’s behaviour at school. To prevent this, schools must make sure that these snacks are not available at the school. Parents have a part to play as well, and they must ensure that their children are not given too much of these types of snacks at home. To conclude, children may have serious problems with their behaviour at school because of a lack of discipline in schools and additives from snacks. However, the solutions are to give more power back to teachers and to limit the availability of certain food.