In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. <br> What do you think are the causes of this? <br> What solutions can you suggest?

Schooling is a platform that develops a student's personality. Unfortunately, problems created by aggressive student behaviour are on a rise in several countries. This essay analyses the various causes and remedial actions that can be taken to prevent it. Primary cause of violent behaviour of students can be attributed to their social background. An individual constantly exposed to violence at home will tend to act the same manner at school. Secondly, school environment plays a vital role in shaping a student's character. Modern education is based on competition and comparison. For example, schools conduct monthly examinations to assess the student's progress and due to this they are subjected to undue stress that leads to acts of violence being committed at school. Although the issue of student behaviour is a serious one, appropriate measures should be taken to eliminate the problems at the grass-root level. Parents should create a harmonious environment at home where a student has independence to express his views that can result in a drastic improvement in their behaviour outside the home. Schools must revamp their education system to create a non-competitive way of learning which will result in a healthy ecosystem where individual talent is respected. There should be several ways of grading based on individual’s talent and not have a one scale fits all grading system. In conclusion, social and education system, which are the major contributors to extreme behaviour of students can be kerbed by placing right measures at home and school. Students are the jewel of our society, and it is our responsibility to guide them in the right direction.