Topic: Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Many people in some countries believe that encouraging teenagers to work or travel for a year after finishing high school studies could benefit their future planning. There are advantages and disadvantages of this issue that we can discuss in depth. First of all, the main advantage of having a gap year may help youth discover their real interests. Take my friend Edwin for example, he was aiming to become a photographer after graduating from senior high school. However, after he went to Australia for one-year working holiday. He decided to become a barrister, and he owns a coffee shop now in Japan. Form such example, it demonstrates that young people could find their interests through having a gap year working or travelling. Another advantage of encouraging youth to go having a gap year before starting university studies is that youth can improve language skills by knowing friends from all over the world. For instance, my friend Annie, she went to Japan while she was 19 years old. She met friends from China, Canada, Malaysia and Spain. She started to have an interest in learning Japanese, Spanish, and English. Therefore, now she can speak these languages fluently. Consequently, a gap year experience did help her know more friends and learn different languages. Despite these advantages, there is one possible disadvantage is that they may not have enough knowledges about financial management. Moreover, they may fall into gambling issues. For example, my friend Tony was invited to visit the casino while he went working holiday in Melbourne. He spent all of his money, moreover, he borrowed more than 1 million dollars from his friends. From this case, a gap year adventure may also include some disadvantages of risks. To conclude, although there is possible drawback. Nevertheless, there is not to say that encouraging youth to have a gap year is totally without merit. Parents and young students should be well prepared before starting the adventure.