Some people say that the main environmental problem of out time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

People are arguing that whether the loss of species of plants and animals is the main environmental problem in today’s world, or there are some other emerging problems which are more fatal. In my opinion, although the loss of endangered species is worth concerning, we should be more worried about other earth problems such as the global warming process. On the one hand, there are two reasons why we should be concerned about losing some species. Firstly, if some of the agricultural plants are extinct from the earth, it will be hard to feed the ever-growing population. This means people lose their food resources and this may lead to disasters like the starving of children. Actually, this is happening on tropical fruits like bananas which feed up to millions of mouths in Indonesia or the Philippines. In addition, pests may overwhelm every dirty place in cities and rural areas. For example, if there are no pest-eating birds anymore, cockroaches can grow bigger than mice and creep wherever they want. On the other hand, I would argue that global warming is a more serious environmental problem because it can make lot of people nowhere to live and cause more deadly forest fires. With regard to the living problem, a higher temperature on earth means that there will be less glaciers. This can cause the increase of sea level and force people living by water such as Japanese and British to move to otherwhere. Concerning the fire problem, 2-3 centigrade higher than normal can make flames easier to thrive in the forests. For example, a piece of plastic can light up several hectares of bush which seems unlikely to happen if the temperature is not that high. In conclusion, although the loss of species is a concerning problem, I believe that other problems like global warming are more important.