Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

For decades, environmental issues are becoming a major concern globally. While some people believe that the major threat to the environment is the loss of specific flora and fauna at the present time, others argue that various parameters are responsible for the rise of environmental problems. However, in my opinion, other factors such as global warming and greenhouse gases are contributing in a large amount to the destruction of the environment in comparison to the extinction of a particular type of plants and animals. First and foremost, considering those individuals who opine that the loss of particular variety of plants and animals is the main reason for the rise of environmental issues. In other words, every species on the earth plays an important role in maintaining the balance of the ecosystem. This will disturb if any species extinct, especially the food chain. For instance, cutting of the trees which contributes 70% of the oxygen, has raised the level of CO2 on the earth and destroying the ozone layer. Thus, the extinction of some plants and animals are considered responsible for environmental problems. On the contrary, including myself, there are some people who think that global warming and emission of greenhouse gases are the main contributors towards environmental problems. To make it clear, consider an example of rising public vehicles on the roads, which are increasing the amount of CO2 gas in the air and also raising the global temperature. Furthermore, the health of the indigenous people has also become vulnerable due to inhalation of these hazardous gases. Therefore, global warming and the greenhouse gases are also becoming a hurdle for the environment. To conclude, there is a decline in the quality of the environment as compared to past time. Although some persons opine that this is happening due to loss of specific species of plants and animals, others do not agree. In my opinion, there are major factors which are destroying the quality of the air, which includes global temperature and greenhouse gases.