Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

People around the world are becoming increasingly concerned about the degradation of the environment these days. Some individuals believe that the biggest environment issue facing the world nowadays is the extinction of various plant and animal species; however, others opine that there are problems far bigger than this. In my view, other environmental hazards, such as the overuse of plastic by the consumers, are the most concerning. On the one hand, some people say that the most prominent environmental problem in the current era is that we are losing different types of plants and animals. The reason for this is the imbalance in the food chain, which is produced by the disappearance of plants and causes animals to become extinct due to lack of food. For example, recent research suggests that white elephants have disappeared because they were not getting sufficient quantity of herbs in their habitat to survive. Therefore, this disturbance in the wild flora and fauna ultimately impacts the dietary patterns of all the other life forms on the Earth. On the other hand, another group of individuals has the opinion that there are far more damaging environmental hazards. This is because some pollutants, such as plastic, deteriorate not only the air quality in cities but also the water quality in the rivers and oceans, which makes numerous planktons, plants, and sea animals to disappear. A whale, for instance, was found last month with forty kilograms of plastic in its stomach; it ate plastic bottles because there was no phytoplankton to eat and the water was polluted with these bottles. Thus, there are more hazardous elements that cause far more damage to the environment. In conclusion, while some people believe that the extinction of several plant and animal species is the major environmental problem of these times, there are others who are concerned more by other issues. In my opinion, the rise in the levels of plastic in the seawater is more dangerous than anything else for the environment.