Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

These days, the environmental issue represents a huge problem, since in the last decade the human activities have deeply impaired it. To this extent, some people deem the loss of some animals and vegetable species as the most tragic event, while others highlight that more relevant problems are hidden behind this dramatic situation. I totally agree with this second point of view and in this essay I will offer some food for thoughts. Firstly, the species impairment is actually a consequence of more important harms. In details, the human activities have taken too much advantage of the environment and the technological development has been one of the most important causes of its alteration. What I mean is that pollution due to the intensive use of various means of transports such as to industries and so on, together with other practises as deforestation has, of course, contribute to this phenomenon and interest a wider distribution. Another reason for this, is probably the major cause of everything, or rather the global warming. For instance, this problem affects areas all over the world. Particularly, the comprehensive increase of temperatures has surely impaired animals and plants, but also has affected seas, lakes, glacial areas with the augment of sea levels. As a result, this would cause more dangerous problems that would also interest the human being. Having said that, also the loss of various species is a main concern, since it is a real consequence of what has been said before. The existence of all species, in fact, guarantees a good balance in the world, with a complex mechanism prey-predator and its impairment is itself prompter of others main environmental issues. To sum up, many problems have been nowadays recognised to be pivotal for the environmental problem and into this view we can both consider the loss of species and the global warming. I believe that there's no a ranking to be filled, but all should be considered as major problems since are deeply interconnected by a cause-consequence logic. Personally, I think we all should start correcting our behaviours to take care of the environment.