Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

To date, much wildlife has become extinct around the world. Although some people insist that this is the main environmental problem, in my opinion, global warming is a more serious environmental problem. The reason why some people are so focused on plant and animal lives is that more and more species are dying out. This problem has been caused by human activities, such as cutting a lot of rainforests to build the cities. If we continue taking such action, the ecosystem will be more seriously damaged. This means that the food chain will also be disturbed, and many more species will become extinct. For example, in the state of Utah in the U. S. the population of deer has dramatically increased because of the decrease in the number of pumas eating deer due to our overhunting. Consequently, deer have eaten plants too much and many species of plants have disappeared there. Despite the above argument, I strongly believe that we need to pay as much attention to global warming as we can. This is because this environmental problem endangers not only plants and animals but also even us. Global warming allows the polar ice caps to melt and sea level to rise, which creates the fear of lowland areas going under the sea. For example, Tuvalu which is an island nation in Polynesia is well-known as one of the lowland areas exposed to the threat of going under the sea. Also, global warming causes climate change with flooding and droughts more common on our earth. To conclude, it is apparent to me that taking care of global warming is more crucial than the extinction of specific species of plants and animals.