Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problem.

Environmental problems creates serious detriments to the world as a whole. While some individuals opine that the major menace affecting the ecology is the extinction of plants and animals, other people believe that there is a highly important environmental problem such as the pollution of the ecosystem. In my opinion, I strongly support the latter notion which states that there is a more imperative environmental menace that needs to be curbed with immediate effect. Several people opine that the loss of specific types or species of plants and animals is the main issue facing the environment because life itself is based mainly on plants and animals. Unarguably, without plants, there would be no life on earth no matter the circumstance. Plants play a very crucial role in the ecosystem due to the fact that they absorb carbon dioxide that animals release into the air and give out oxygen to be reused by animals. Also, an extremely interesting fact is that various plants have the strong possibility to absorb toxicants from the environment, and as a result, protecting the ecosystem. In addition, both plants and animals help stabilize the food chain in other to attain optimum environmental development. Therefore, without these highly essential plants and animals, there is an environmental challenge such as death, drought, and starvation. On the other hand, I, among other people is of the opinion that there is a more cogent serious menace affecting the world which is pollution. Pollution is mainly divided into three namely air, water and land pollution. Air pollution is caused mainly by deadly gases such as carbon monoxide, hydrogen sulphide, and hydro fluorocarbons being released into the atmosphere by vehicles, production companies and refineries. Land pollution is caused by deforestation, testing of nuclear weapons, and over grazing to mention a few. Lastly, water pollution can be caused by dumping of refuse into water bodies and oil exploration. All three forms of pollution lead to depletion of the ozone layer, respiration diseases in humans, global warming, radiation, earthquakes, landslides, erosion, drought, famine, health related conditions, and also the extinction of both plants and animals. Currently, global warming and the depletion of the ozone layer which further leads to radiation is an impending issue in the world causing several other problems. As such, pollution is the most imperative menace affecting the entire ecosystem. To sum up, in this twenty-first century, extinction of plants and animals should be put into prompt consideration, but there is a more grievous issue affecting g the environment in all countries of the world. This menace tends to be pollution and keen interest must be placed upon this problem before it leads to extinction of all forms of life on earth.