Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Over the last few decades, we have witnessed that the environmental condition has worsened. Some people say the main issue is the loss of biodiversity while others hold the opinion against it. From my perspective, although it would be sad to hear that many animals and plants are disappearing from us, there are some other problems of more significance. On one hand, the disappearance of plants and animals is a thorny issue indeed. Unregulated human activities has broken the ecological balance of nature in different areas. For instance, in recent years, the Brazilian president carried out policies to encouraged logging and reclaiming, which has later drawn international strictures. Companies and the government, consequently, has been despoiling the resources of the Amazon forest, causing the extinction of many species of plants and animals. Therefore, protecting biodiversity is now a pressing task for human beings. On the other hand, there are still other issues of more significance. Global warming is potential threat to us. To illustrate, research shows that the glaciers in the North Pole will completely melt in the next few decades if no effective measures are taken. This means that sea level will rise, drowning thousands of islands. To make matters worse, places like Maldives and Mauritius will soon disappear as well, annihilating not only plants and animals but the whole local civilization. In conclusion, I would argue that although the loss of biodiversity is an important problem, we should pay more attention on problems like global warming, which will not only affect plants and animals but ourselves directly.