Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others says that there are more important environmental problems.

Our world is changing faster than anyone predicted. We live in a time of fast development, economic growth and globalization. However, it is also the time of uncontrolled environmental problems that are rising year by year. Shrinking drinkable water supplies, burning forests, melting ice caps - these are only a few of them. Some people say that the most serious and urgent environmental problem nowadays are endangered species of plants and animals, while others emphasise that some issues are demanding more attention. This essay discusses both perspectives and proves that an ecological crisis is a complex issue. There is no doubt, that shrinking habitats are a threat to biodiversity, in terms of both plants and animals. Many species such as blue whales, orangutan or gorillas are on the verge of extinction, also a tremendous number of plants are endangered and need protection if they are to survive. Ecologists and organizations are taking the lead to rescue fauna and flora of our planet, together with people who help them by making donations. As scientists say, climate changes are at the forefront of factors that have a significant impact on wildlife. The Earth's temperature is rising, causing huge damage to people, species and ecosystem. Global warming causes theming of ice caps, droughts in many regions and intensive weather anomalies. Unless it stops, future changes can be irreversible. Some of them are seen right now. Bushfires in Australia are destroying properties, forests and are killing people and millions of animals. Rising temperatures are the reason, why these fires are more frequent and harder to stop. Another environmental issue is overpopulation that may lead to a lack of drinkable water supplies. The bigger world population is, the more pressure is putting on depleting resources. In the future, safe water may become an increasingly precious commodity, leading to issues of water security. Also, global warming is a factor causing that we are running out of its drinkable supplies. Doubtless, our environment is in real danger and we have to take the lead for climate action to build a more resilient future for people and nature. To my mind, problems such as global warming and overpopulation resulting in shrinking drinkable water supplies are most alerting issues. The loss of many species of plants and animals is also an important one, but I cannot agree that this is the main environmental problem these days.