Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. with this opinion?

A certain group of people are of the opinion that music is a better way of integrating diverse cultures and different age groups. Overall, I would opined that while this is true, we must bear in mind the demerits of this view. Firstly, opponents of such a view believe that majority of songs that youngsters are listening to today are full of obscene pictures and videos which is unpleasant for them. For example, it is a common knowledge in Nigeria homes for children not to listen to songs by Rihanna (an American musician) because of nudity she displayed in her videos. This has created a barrier to songs from the United State of America and Nigerians are even conscious of Americans. Moreover, certain tracks can generate hatred for some selected few. Take for an instance, some traditional singers in a bid to make public awareness about a pressing issue, are often in the habit of directly or indirectly antagonizing authorities. This reminds me of a popular Nigeria musician called Davido who opposed the government of Nigeria and supported the political ambition of his uncle. The effect of this was that it created animosity among the political parties in Nigeria rather than uniting them. Although songs are good, if targetted against some cultures or age groups can result in war. On the other hand, music has a way of uniting people of different background and ages through organized party, concerts or travelling to another country to participate in music festivals. A yearly musical event is normally held in Israel and the participants included people from the middle East, Americans, Africans and majority Asians. Through songs they listened to, it has changed some of their views about Israel. Some now see that Israel citizens are peaceful rather than being cruel because of wars they experience yearly. It is worthy of note that when properly channelled, music can even bring an end to wars that we are experiencing in different parts of the world. In conclusion, I would opined that on balance, while music can unite nations and different age category, it can also result in disunity if it is not monitored. I however believe that the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks.