Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. with this opinion?

Certain persons opine that music is a great way to promote cohesion among people of various cultures and age groups. Music can be beneficial for bringing people together for social and noble causes. However, the content and the type of music can act as barriers. I agree with the argument that music which is pleasant and widely acceptable can be used for promoting harmony. Music is one of the forms of art which transcends boundaries of nations and attracts audience all around the world. It is not uncommon to see music lovers come together / unite enthusiastically despite belonging to different age groups, gender, caste or creed. It has been noted time and again that people belonging to varying backgrounds have joined hands for several social and charitable causes by virtue of their common liking for music. However, there are certain factors such as genre and lyrics which can affect this. For example, a person with interest in classical music might not prefer to attend a western music concert. If someone is not proficient in English, one might not prefer spending time with people who discuss English music. Music with profane and objectionable content directed towards one particular sect of people might not be well received and may even adversely cause communal disharmony Hence, I believe that music which is soothing, commonly understood and accepted can be used to promote bonding between the people of different cultures and ages. Also, it is essential to monitor the content of the music to assess the suitability as per the social and cultural norms for better acceptance. In conclusion, music can be an excellent medium to unite people provided the limitations in the content and genre are addressed.