Some people belive that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Free tertiary schooling has always sparked heated debates all over the world. I completely disagree that higher education cost should be borne by students because that would prevent the waste of talent resource and also it is a form investment for the government in the long run. When higher studies come with a cost, it creates an inefficient allocation of the human resource. Due to the fact when there is a financial constraint, some students from the less privileged background are forced to choose the courses that either is not too costly or have good employability prospects and not necessarily courses that the students want most or are good at. As a result, to give an example, instead of being an excellent artist, the student can only be a mediocre accountant because he cannot utilize all his potential in his chosen field, causing a waste of talent; free higher education can prevent this problem. The second reason why graduate studies should be free is because if the government chooses not to spend money on free education, they will see rising expenditures in other areas. For example, a less educated workforce bears a higher risk of unemployment in the economic downturn, and thus the government’s coffers for unemployment aid would need to increase. Furthermore, unskilled labour earns much less than college-educated people do, consequently, they contribute less income tax, For instance, less revenue for the government. Not to mention, the highly skilled population is essential to any country’s economic growth in the long run. In conclusion, because free education allows students to learn what they enjoy the most and are good at, it can ensure better allocation of the human resource. Moreover, free schooling can reduce unemployment cost in the economic downturn, increase government’s tax revenue, and increase economic growth in the long run. Therefore, I completely disagree that students should pay for their higher education.