Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

There is a difference of opinion on how unpleasant situations should be handled. While a number of individuals argue that accepting a negative circumstance is better, I am of the viewpoint that trying to change such circumstance is more beneficial than accepting the situation. Those who support the view that bad incidences should be accepted argue on the basis of religious belief. This is because they claim that majority of such happens as a result of the influence of a higher being. They argue that such states should be accepted as this prepares us for better events. A man who believes in a supreme being and recently lost his job, for instance, would rather than search for a job claim everything happens for a reason because he believes a higher power would eventually provide a job when the time is right. However, I would argue that some events such as lack of finance, unsatisfactory job, or toxic relationships should be improved for one’s mental state. This implies that an unpleasant event of situation happening in one’s life has serious implications on their mental health leading to increase rate of depression and psychosis. Take for example, a research carried out by the World Health Organization, in 2018 revealed that about 75% of patients with depression had some sort of negative event happening in their lives at the time they experienced depression. However, this figure was said to have reduced significantly immediately after such situations were changed. Hence, if most situations are tackled with determination this would lead to the decrease rate of depression, which in turn leads to decrease in sucidal rates. In conclusion, while a lot of people tend to argue that unpleasant states should be accepted as this is from a higher source, I believe that most negative circumstances should be changed as this improves mental health and decreases sucidal rates within the community.