Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

People have different opinions on whether to accept unfavourable circumstances or put in efforts to change these. While accepting any bad situation lessen the pain associated with it, I believe that humans are capable to overcome every type of problem. There are some who consider that acceptance of bad situations is better because it lowers the suffering caused by these. If people who mentally sufferes accept these uncontrolled circumstances would be in emotionally- inert state, which alleviate their pain up to a certain extent. Citizen’s of a war-affecting country Syria, for example, are helpless to control the war, hence, reacting to this particular situation would only exacerbate their suffering. Thus, mental trauma can be avoided in certain cases, when people choose to accept harsh times in their life instead of reacting to them. On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that unfavourable conditions can be changed with will and determination. As humans have the potential to change any circumstance, it is always better to try with a positive attitude rather than attaining a passive approach. Paralympic games, where physically disabled athletes compete, are the best illustration of humans’ ability, and shows that regardless of challenges in life, anything is achievable with a positive outlook. In the same manner, hard phases such as financial breakdowns or unstable careers are parts of our life and can be changed with efforts. In conclusion, although there are some potential upsides of accepting bad situations, I believe that trying is always the best answer because these can be changed.