Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced

The issue whether consumerism that has become part and parcel of people’s life could usher more positive or negative impact is certainly a contentious one. Even though a consumerist society might be a major contributor to accumulation of litters and materialistic attitude, I firmly believe that yielding more job opportunities, consumerism could bring enhancement in the quality of individuals’ lifestyle. On the one hand, consumerism can boost infrastructure as well as improving people’s life by acquisition of novel goods and industrial revolution. To be more precise, with an advent of modernistic gadgets international communication in terms of trade and political relationships have been greatly revolutionized and made affordable. For instance, with an eye to keeping in touch with loved-ones or business partners, people can just utilize their mobile phones by instant messaging or video conferencing in a fraction of minutes and the cost as well. In addition to this, mass production and consumption could create more job vacancies by virtue of new domestic enterprise startups and competition amongst them. Hence, the far better purchasing abilities consumers have, the more convenient the way of people live will be. On the other hand, unnecessary consumption might lead to much more contamination as the majority of consumers in sophisticated states have become accustomed to throw-away culture. As a result of the individuals emulating the actions towards other people surrounded so as to promote their self-image, the surplus of commodities has been purchased, leading to accumulation of waste in unprecedented amounts. Furthermore, such a consumerist society outlined above may cause materialistic outlook, occurring on the account of money-oriented assessment of other people. Nonetheless, thanks to the immense contribution of consumerism to economy its drawbacks could be somehow minimized. By way of conclusion, albeit such dire aftermaths consumerism bring as pollution and money-minded perspective, it is my conviction that ameliorating way of living in tandem with economic output, consumerism influence societies more positively, as its downsides could be construed as a natural phenomenon. . However, urgent steps require to be taken in order to obviate further degradation of consumerist society.