Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce this amount of rubbish produced?

Excessive production of garbage is indeed an ever-increasing issue facing by the whole world these days. This trend is mainly due to over utilization of plastic bags and electronic waste. However, several measures could be implemented to tackle this problem. The most significant cause of growing waste is the usage of plastic bags. The majority of people often go shopping in malls, supermarkets and retail shops with empty-handed with a view that they will be provided with a plastic bag, even if they buy a single item, which gives rise to rubbish. Such plastic bags are never recycled thing on the earth. In order to tackle this menace, the government should ban plastic bags by imposing high taxes and introducing biodegradable bags in the market. As a result, people will be able to carry their own cotton bag from home and it leads to a reduction in growing waste. Electronic waste is another major reason which contributes to increasing rubbish. The advent of technologies has changed the way of people’s thinking than earlier. At present, usually, people want to try every new model of phones and laptops which are incorporated in the market. Consequently, their current electronic items are being redundant. Besides this, the price of the new product is not as high as its repairing cost, meaning that the augmenting number of people tend to buy a new one rather than repairing them. Thus, it is evident that excessive rubbish is brought by electronic waste. To solve this problem, the government should run campaigns to make people aware of the importance of e-waste recycling and how it is deleterious to our planet. To conclude, increasing waste often stems from the growing usage of plastic bags and buying advance electronic gadgets like phone and laptop. Only when the government enacts stringent laws on plastic bags and create awareness among people about recycling importance to the environment, will the issue be fully resolved.