Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The increasing air pollution and garbage production in the last three decades has a tremendous effect on our planet. There are many social reasons explaining this growing problem and the government should take strong actions in order to reverse these changes. In the following essay, I will explain what are, in my opinion, the main reasons for the increased rubbish production, and what are the possible solutions. Changes in social habbits are, in my opinion, the main reason why people produce more garbage nowadays. First, people nowadays tend to buy new things at a faster rate and discard old products. While in previous years, people would repair electrical machinary, such as televisions and phones, and use it well over ten years, today these products are being replaced after two years in average. This social change, according to the Israeli government resulted in the fact that electrical machinary comprise 20% of the annual garbage production. Second, increased use plastic materials have become increasingly popular in the wetern society over the last 20 years. This undegradable product has become the most common garbage material wordlwide according the United Nations, and represents the leading cause of ocean pollution. Last, commersials broadcasted throughout the social media influence young people to buy more products, such as cloths and different accessories which further increase garbage production. As a result of the above mentioned social changes, the government can take several steps in order to save our planet. Initially, through legislation, the government can reduce the use of plastic and single use materials. This has been done in Canada recently, which reduced the annual garbage production by 10%. Also, the government can promote the use of recycled products such as bottles, clothes and papers. Last, educational programs to teach children about the importance of recycling and reducing garbage production can have a massive effect on the overall environmental pollution. In conclusion, I believe that social changes such as the use of plastics materials, as well as buying new products instead of fixing it, are the main reasons for the increased rubbish production. This can be prevented through government legislation, increased recycling and educational programms. We should take drastic steps to save our planet.