Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Rubbish simply refers to waste production, which is a severe issue for the whole world due to recent environmental degradations, pollution and global warming. The reason behind the increasing garbage production and some measures to improve the overall situation will be discussed in this essay. There are a couple of reasons, in my mind, behind the increase in waste production in recent years. First, the uncontrollable use of non-decomposable carriers (eg. plastics and polythene) is one of the top-most causes of excessive waste production. Plastics is a bigger concern and it is being preferred more than ever for packaging or bottling certain products, especially in the food and beverage industries. Besides, the incognizance of citizen is playing its part undoubtedly. We are being used to a throwaway culture rather than using recycling products. This is leading to the preferences of companies to produce one-time products which are eventually increasing more and more waste production. To reduce waste production and to save the environment, governments in all countries have to play a bigger role than they are actually playing. The government should legislate strict laws to enforce companies to use decomposable packaging materials. Assistance from the judicial system can be a good move. For example, the mobile courts led by licensed magistrates can fine those whoever does not comply with the law. The government should also encourage people and manufacturers to take part in recycling and reusing products whenever applicable. Restaurants and fast-food shops should offer a discount on food and drink items when customers return the packaging bottles or packets that were made of plastics. Such kinds of initiatives should be appreciated by authority. In conclusion, the government, as well as the manufacturers, need to be more focused on the consequence of massive waste production, therefore stepping forward to apply possible measures can reduce the growing concern.