Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

A growing number of rubbish produced by human is increasingly being witnessed these days. This essay will discuss the main causes of this, including increasing population and consumer culture. This essay will also suggest how the government could cope with this by raising public awareness and proposing marketing regulations. Dealing with difficulties related to waste can be challenging especially due to the growth of population. Producing more trash is inevitable for us because we need to consume more stuff to maintain our daily life. Additionally, we are living in a consumer culture nowadays as we tend to be encouraged to purchase more and more products then throw them away in order to keep up the trend. For example, it has been found that we have produced more garbage in the past 5 years than the last 30 years combined globally. As can be seen, waste caused by large population and consumer culture is prominent. Enhancing public awareness and introducing market regulations are both critical to eradicate these problems for the government. People need to realize the significance of environmental protection and sustainable development then put them into daily actions such as dividing household waste into different categories and recycling. In addition, new market rules need to be introduced by the authority that manufacture can produce good quality and durable goods to the customer. To recapitulate, it is essential for the government to raise public awareness and purpose new legislation to the market. To sum up, excessive amount of garbage is ubiquitous these days. This essay discussed how more and more trash is caused by increasing amount of people globally and consumer culture in the society. This essay also suggested solutions to these problems, including improving people’s understanding of recycling and bringing in new marketing regulations.