Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

There has been an increase in the amount of rubbish produced in the recent years. Although there are various reasons for this trend, fortunately there are also steps that governments can take to overcome this problem. There are numerous reasons for the increase in the production of the rubbish. Firstly, the rise in the use of the disposable containers has contributed a lot to this problem. Most of the items sold nowadays in the markets are packaged in the single use containers. For instance, fruits are sold in non-reusable plastic boxes which are thrown away. This has resulted in the increase in the amount of waste generated daily. Secondly, plastic is now widely used since it is cheap and easily manufactured, but it is hard to recycle. Currently, there are no significant efforts to recycle all types of plastic. Since there are not many recycling plants, plastic is disposed rather than being recycled. Luckily, governments can take measures to reduce the production of rubbish. First, the use of reusable items should be promoted. For example, reusable bags should be used to decrease the use of plastic bags. Also, the use of the plastic can be reduced by putting additional taxes on the manufacturers. This will increase the price of the material and promote the use of alternate materials. Furthermore, recycling should be promoted, so that waste material can be reused without damaging the environment. Lastly, governments should spread awareness among people regarding the environmental risks associated with the production of waste. In conclusion, the amount of waste produced is increasing daily at an alarming rate. However, governments can overcome this problem by promoting recycling and the use of reusable containers.