Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The number of litters in the society has increased significantly over the last decade. This essay will discuss the main two causes of this issue and possible solutions for the authorities to solve it. The two primary reasons that directly contribute to this issue are the fast-trend industry and the unnecessary packaging for a product. Firstly, we are currently living in the century where everything changes so quickly. Every year, there will always be new technologies, fashions and items that cause the society to always purchase the new version, even though their current item is still functional. Additionally, many companies often use non-reusable items to package their goods. According to 'The Economist' magazine, the Unilever company uses more than 10, 000 of plastic annually for their products, which contributes to almost 60% of litter in the community. Therefore, fast-trend industry and unused packaging are the major reason of the rise in rubbish. On the other hand, the government should use their role to reduce this issue by banning non-recycled goods and raising awareness within the community. As plastic is the major contribution to litter, they need to stop every company from producing unnecessary packaging. For instance, in 2015, the Armsterdam' authorities established a regulation where companies are required to use carton boxes instead of plastic, since it can be recycled easily. In 2016, they have reduced the amount of litters by 70% annually. Moreover, they can use their platform to raise awareness in the society through advertisement and campaign. Hence, the governments have a great platform that can help to protect the environment from rubbish. In conclusion, although the increase of rubbish is due to the fast-trend industry and company's packaging, the government can prevent this problem by raising awareness and banning the use of plastic in the community.