Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is a sad reality that littering has increased manifolds over the past few years; this is evident from our littered parks, streets, road, offices, malls, schools and other public places. This essay will first look at the reasons for this heartening increase and then suggest how government bodies can address or limit this pressing issue. In my opinion, lack of awareness is the major contributor of increase in rubbish production. This trend developed as the general public was not fully aware of the consequences of littering on the environment. To address this issue, the government should take strict policy level decisions; this includes introducing programmes, aimed at highlighting the drastic effect of pollution on our environment. These programmes can be made a compulsory part of our school curriculum and can also be tailored to reach a wider audience through paper, print and social media. Such initiatives can help in reducing the problem at hand. Another evident reason for this shocking increase in waste production is lack of accountability against people found throwing litter n public areas. This implies that people throw rubbish as they are not scared of being penalized for such actions. A few years ago I had a chance to travel to England. During my stay, I was amazed by the level of cleanliness and zero litter in public places. While inquiring from the locals on how government ensured such pollution free environment, it dawned on me that people found littering are fined over a thousand pounds. We can apply the same problem in our country. A possible solution to this worrying problem is that the government should impose heavy fines on the masses who are found littering. This will certainly set an example for the rest of people to refrain from producing waste. To conclude, increased litter is certainly an alarming issue. However, I am confident that with certain government led initiatives: including environment friendly content promotion and teaching and fines for throwing litter, we can address this problem. We, as responsible citizens, should help the government in enforcing these policies to curb this problem.