Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Recently, waste management has been a matter of concern to most authorities with the continuous rise in the generation of rubbish. This is because of the technological advancement in food processing and preservation and this problem can be solved by creating a system to manage it properly. First and foremost, one of the problem is that food processing and preservation has witnessed profound advances in recent times with the advent of several styles of packaging food products such as canned, polythene and bottled meals amongst others. This has led to the production of all kinds of trash as people dispose them incessantly. To illustrate, most of the food freshly consumed by Nigerians are now been sold in a chemically transformed state and sealed in containers with no structure to manage the waste. As a result of this, the generated bye product keep increasing as food and drinks are being packaged in containers that are non-biodegradable. However, this challenge can be tackled by establishing a program for effective waste control. This system will employ the three point focus for controlling waste which includes: the provision of containers for clean trash disposal, destruction of biodegradable waste and recycling of non-biodegradable remnants. This will constitute an excellent structure for waste control. For instance, people who buy products packaged in polythene or plastics can discard it in the trash bin after which the authority can burn or bury the decomposable ones while the non-decaying remnants is recycled. Thus decreasing the amount of bye products generated. In conclusion, even though breakthrough in food making and storage technology in the form of sealed meals is responsible for the increase in waste production. This resultant set backs can be solved by initiating an effective waste appropriation project.