Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Pollution is one of the major menaces of the world today. Despite global awareness about the ill-effects of non-degradable waste generation, the amount of trash generated is on a rising spree. We are producing more and more rubbish and mass production can be considered as the major cause of it. Business & FMCG conglomerates are generating tonnes of dump everyday owing to their heavy use of plastic and other hazardous materials like dyes, chemicals etc. They are also responsible for dumping pollutants into the ocean and environment. As the mass produced goods reach the market, consumers also dump the waste post consumption in a non-eco-friendly way. For instance, in several developing countries individuals are observed throwing plastic cans, bottles, empty food packets in public places like railway tracks, roads and parks rather than properly disposing the same in trash bins. This leads to multiplication of rubbish created. Another additional reason of increasing waste is lack of effective junk management systems. Garbage is not appropriately disposed or recycled in several countries. In many underdeveloped nations, the garbage is burned, which leads to further air pollution. Governments must ensure effective waste disposal by creating public rules of dumping garbage and enforcing the same in a stringent way. Progressed nations must also share technologies of garbage disposal with counterparts and other progressing nations. Central bodies like WHO must oversee such cooperative measures to ensure good health and clean environment for all global citizens. Countries must also encourage residents to reduce unnecessary waste, reuse as much as possible and recycle whenever possible. For example, in India electronic spare parts are reused and recycled to generate income by some communities. These measures will aid in reducing global waste. United measures and individual efforts will foster junk management and will facilitate a clean and green tomorrow for all.