(2) Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

At a very young age, children learn by imitating adults' behaviour or things around them. They are not able to distinguish between right and wrong behaviours. To help kids learn the differences, punishment is an effective way for parents and teachers. However, it is controversial that this method would negatively affect the children. In my opinion, punishment is a useful method for education as long as it does not badly affect the children physically and mentally. To begin with, corporal punishments are common punishments for children’s bad behaviours. These punishments would not help the children learn from their mistakes. In contrast, they have a negative impact on children physically and mentally. When parents hit their children, the children would feel hurt or even have scars. If this punishment frequently repeats, the children would become insensitive and miss the bond with their parents. Another example, at school, children are often forced to stand in front of the class for their mistakes, which is embarrassed and humiliated. Hence, educational punishment which does not cause physical and mental harm is more effective. If a child behaves badly, parents and teachers should gently explain how wrong the behaviour is instead of yelling at him/her or hitting him/her. To help the child learn from his/ her mistake, parents and teachers can ban the child from that bad habit or a hobby of his/hers instead. For instance, when the child uses his/ her phone for a long period of time, which negatively impacts the eyes, parents may consider punishing them by taking their phone away or controlling their pocket money, asking him/ her to do the housework for several days. At school, instead of detention, teachers should offer them social activities such as cleaning up the restrooms or school yard as punishments for their mistakes. As a result, the child would understand why he/she ought not to behave that way and change his/ her morality positively. In conclusion, punishment is essential to educate children how to differentiate between good and bad things. However, physically and mentally harmful punishments have to be avoided. Constructive punishments are recommended, instead.