Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

It has been a long-standing discussion about whether the outcome of the research done in any field, such as science, business and academics, should be made public or should it be made private to gain profits. In this essay, I will discuss both the points of views using the real-life examples to support arguments. Making an outcome of a research publicly available has plentiful benefits. The results of a research can be used by numerous groups of people, including scholars, scientists, or engineers, to potentially accelerate the work in their respective fields. For example, a group of IT professionals can use a research done by bio-medical scientists to develop an app that could diagnose the dangerous diseases. Moreover, a freely available researched idea can improve the quality of product produced by two competing companies. Not only this, but also it helps increase the business, which in turn benefits the economy of a country and eventually poor people gain the benefits. However, some people are not in favour of making the research material publicly available, which has a very bad impact on the growth of any domain. Instead of making an information private for mere monetary gains, it should be made available to other people to use it. It not only prevails the sense of competition, but also keep improving the respective fields. If scientists stop sharing their research results for money than the companies would fail to introduce new products in markets which would have awful effects on the economies of the world. In summary, making a research available for everyone has more benefits than hiding it from the people. Therefore, the groups of people or companies should create a culture of open source and share information with each other. After a detailed analysis, I am in complete favour of sharing the information.