Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

While some suggest that people should exchange information as much as possible in education, commerce, and science, others claim that the data is too crucial to be offered without any cost. While I think the latter point of view has some valid points, I firmly agree with the former one. Those who think people opt not to share information freely may argue it places them at a distinct disadvantage. This is because they often put enormous amount of energy and capital into acquiring such information. Sometimes, this could cause a severe conflict of interests among stakeholders. For example, the United States has recently prohibited the multinational Chinese company Huawei to launch its 5G technology in its country, possibly worrying that it will 'steal' their citizens' personal information. Regardless of whether the government is telling the whole truth, such political move shows that each government, or individual, naturally wants to protect its property. On the other hand, I believe that it brings more benefits than drawbacks if people are willing to share valuable insights freely. Throughout history, it is only by co-operation and altruism can humankind advance and survive catastrophic accidents. Take the advent of steam engines as an example. If the scientist who invented it kept it secretive, it would be highly unlikely for us to enjoy the convenience of travelling in carriage worldwide. Although informing others freely in regards to various substantial development could be risky, we should not let fear control us. In conclusion, although some people believe that providing information at no cost could adversely impact their interest, it is my conviction that such practice's advantages outweigh its disadvantages in terms of bettering our society.