Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

These days people have access to a lot of data. The question of how much information should be shared in such fields as science, business and academic world is becoming more important. It is considered by some that most information should be shared, while there are others who think it should not be shared freely. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion. On the one hand, collaboration between people leads to faster results. When scientists exchange information freely, allowing their colleagues to read current papers, they might produce better outcomes compared to working on their own and having only their research. As a result, medical advances and new breakthroughs might be made thanks to open data. On the other hand, sharing information openly might have some detrimental impacts. People with wrong intentions might use available information for illegal purposes and, thus, such data should be safeguarded. For example, the instructions on how to make a bomb are too valuable and should not be shared freely. In addition, business people or scientists want to avoid having their work stolen. They do not reveal the details of their projects because others might profit from copying other people’s original work. I completely agree with this opinion and think that most data have to be protected and kept private. In conclusion, though sharing data might be a valuable tool, some information should not be shared freely. An obvious plus of having open data is cooperation and collaboration that might lead to a greater good. However, the disadvantages are that one might use information for wrong purposes or steal data. I believe that information should not be shared openly.