Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

The world has transformed into a global village. Technological advances have made it feasible to keep today’s population abreast of ongoing developments and sharing of ideas regarding scientific research, market avenues and literature. It is commonly believed that all available data should be communicated while other argued that important portions should not be made public. In my opinion, newer progress in these fields should be made available so that society can benefit as a whole. Development of truth in various fields like science, business and literature requires research. The basic workhorse of any sort of such activity is available material and the relevant information. I firmly believe that such information should be made available without any ambiguity so that knowledge, the discovery of new facts and literary assets available can progress smoothly. To clarify further, different people are working on the same aspect at various places without having shared the commonality of the work. For instance, the Ebola virus outbreak happened in Liberia and other African countries claiming thousands of lives. Various multinational organizations started working on the development of a vaccine against Ebola. All these efforts were proved futile till it was announced by the World Health Organization that a joint venture will be conducted to search for a vaccine. Resultantly, a vaccine became available due to coordinated efforts and sharing of all the updated material among various stakeholders. By contrast, many people believe that all the information available should not be shared. It is commonly believed that some data is valuable and communication of some important information may lead to more harm rather than doing good. It is exemplified by the crash of stock markets across the globe in 2007 due to the rapid spread of all the data regarding the American economy. Such notion is true as far as business community is concerned. By this I mean that companies are in tough competition and may suffer, for example, huge loss if sensitive information regarding their new product is publicized. To conclude, it is relevant to suggest that all the available data relating to science and arts should be shared freely without any bias while the business information may need a check to avoid losses. This will help enhance the development of evidence based scientific material, prosperous markets and academic literature.