Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to share freely.

Sharing as much information as possible in scientific research or other fields in the world might be good, but some people believe that these data are too significant to be shared without restrictions. In my opinion, information should be shared freely in the world but it also depends on the data type and impacts after sharing. To distribute data freely means that you can have access to any knowledge or info and use that info for your own or to improve yourself. If none of the data is shared, then further research would not exist and we would not know the details of the knowledge as the prerequisite data was unknown. Moreover, sometimes third people involved in that issue also need to know about those like citizens who should be informed about the scientific research of diseases or that the investors have to know the company background and its performance before investing in it. On the other hand, it is understandable that some data can impact the company or the organization badly. For example, if the data concerns company management and their competitive advantage once the competitors know, copy and modify, this might lead the company to disaster. Other than this is when the data collection was from a significant amount of cost and cannot be shared freely as they might loss. From these two point of views, it is reasonable to share info for educational and further research while keeping some confidentiality to protect the company from getting losses.