Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important to be shared freely.

Information is an important and a valuable resource when conducting scientific research in business or academic contexts. In my opinion information needs to be freely available to any person who wish to carryout research even though, there are considerable reasons to refrain in sharing valuable information. With respect to sharing information, several arguments can be brought forward. Firstly, availability of information prevents the problem of recreating the wheel, which is achieving the same knowledge which has known previously. Secondly, everyone gets the opportunity to access information irrespective of their background so that everyone can contribute to knowledge. For example, people in poor countries, who do not have financial strength will have opportunity to access these information and contribute. Finally, there will be rapid advances in the knowledge since more people can contribute. However, there are points which can be considered for not sharing information freely. Firstly, there may be information which can be too important and too sensitive so that they cannot be disclosed publicly. For example, private details of people such as bank details, personal lives may not be appropriate to be shared. Also, there may be high commercial value in some information and sharing them would prevent in generating revenue from them. For example, if information on a certain groundbreaking technology is shared freely, there won’t be any market value for it as it is shared freely. In conclusion, I believe that it is better to share much information as possible to the advancement of scientific research in business and academic world.