Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

It is believed that information and data are becoming the most useful asset in our modern world. For this reason, some people argue that it is a necessity to share them, while others say that some information should not be shared publicly. In this essay I will explain why I find the latter argument is more correct. On the one hand, having information easily available would contribute toward increasing knowledge and advances in a variety of fields. For instance, When Volvo invented the safety built into cars, it gave this technology to the other automotive manufacturers, which results in a safer road for the benefits for the people. On the other hand, It is afraid that information sharing would kill the competition between the companies and people. To explain, Once a company gain access to another company’s copyright, it would results in a financial crisis for the latter one, since it spent money and efforts in the idea development. A recent study conducted at the University of London found that in 80% of the cases over copyrights and patents ended up in bankruptcy of the inovative company. As consequens, punishing the hard worker. In addition to that, there is the possibility that dangerous information and knowhow might reach terrorism group, who might utilize for illegal actions! To conclude, while the data sharing would certainly improve technology in some aspects, It seems that the negatives of this practice, such like to reward the “lazy one” and the security reasons, are enough in my view to outweigh the benefits.