Some people believe that is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

It is true that some people argue that would be positive to spread information as much as possible in scientific, economic and academic sectors. However, others say that these kind of information should be hidden since they are too precious. In this essay I will discuss both points of view before giving my own opinion. On the one hand, knowledge is getting more important in our modern society, and with the advent of technology, it seems that nothing can contain its widespread. Firstly, with everyone who are sharing their willingness through social media, some specialized sectors such as scientists, can exploit these data as a useful source for their research. Secondly, a businessman who archived a great status of wealth can share all his tips and secrets about the market world and, hence, it could bring benefits for whom are in a poorer situation. However, not all these data can be interpreted as reliable, and interpreting the wrong data might bring catastrophic results. On the other hand, it is hiding the data that has the most direct effects on the public. First of all, human civilization is considered as a community and by obscuring the data can affect the progress of this civilization. For example, if an academic researcher found out a solution of a determined problem, he should immediately share his data in the specialized sector, any impediment of sharing these data can increase the time of solving this problem. Nonetheless, in some cases, hiding data are the key for the government to keep the population under control may be considered too important to be shared. For instance, with a widespread of coronavirus in 2019, the Chinese government initially tried to hide this information with the fear that its awareness could cause a massive consequence of its population. In conclusion, share freely and hide knowledge have both their advantages and disadvantages. As far as I am concerned, there should be a balance between them in order to help our society significantly.